• GR
  • EN

Poetry and music “Voices”






The Danel string quartet, continuing the tradition of the great quartets (Beethoven Quartet and Pro Arte), presented on June 19, 2013 at the Acropolis Museum a program specially designed for the 150th anniversary of the birth of C. P. Cavafy, which combined Cavafy’s poetry with 19th and 20th-century musical compositions.
Inspired by the poem “Voices”, the musicians chose works by Tchaikovsky, Knyffel, Raskatov and Shostakovich. The international dramatic soprano Elena Vasilieva participated in the program.
The concert was organized in collaboration with the Dmitri Shostakovich International Foundation.
Cavafy’s poems were read by actor and director Dimitris Lignadis.
Danel String Quartet:
Mark Danel: first violin
Gilles Millet: second violin
Vlad Bogdanas: viola
Guy Danel: cello